Ex-INEC chair, Attahiru Jega, two former ministers, 40 others bag presidential appointment

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Attahiru Jega, as Chairman, Governing Council of the University of Jos.

The Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, who disclosed this while addressing journalists in Abuja yesterday, said Buhari also approved the appointment and reassignment of Chancellors to 42 federal universities.

Two former Ministers, Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, were also appointed chairmen of governing councils.

While Anwuka is to chair the council of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State, Udoma will chair the council of Bayero University, Kano.

Both Udoma and Anwuka served as ministers in the first term of Buhari.

Other Chairmen of Councils are Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo, University Of Abuja; Malam Adamu Fika, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Dr. Sonny Kuku, University Of Benin; Chief Ikechi Emenike, University Of Nigeria; Nsukka and Ballama Manu, University Of Maiduguri.

Adamu also noted that the President approved the re-constitution of Governing Councils of 23 Federal universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) following the expiration of their tenures since 8th May, 2021.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.